Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 High School Library Regular Board Meeting - June 9, 2025 6:00 PM

Call to Order:

The regular board meeting of Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on June 9, 2025, at 6:00 PM, in the Library of Leyton High School, Dalton, NE 69131. The Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the Library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the school website (www.leytonwarriors.org) on or before June 5, 2025.

Attendance taken at 6:00 PM.

Present
Present
Present
Present
Present

Also present were Mr. McLaughlin, Mrs. Haley, Mrs. Kruse, Mrs. Rathman, Mr. Henderson, and four community members. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. There was no communication with the board.

Moved by Benish, seconded by S. Ernest, to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Mercedes Heidemann commented on her application to graduate in December.

The School Board interviewed two candidates to replace Mr. Borges. The two candidates were Randy Bunner and Nicki Tuzicka. The board will consider these applicants, as well as the two who were not selected for Mr. Rushman's seat and make a formal selection at the July meeting.

Mr. McLaughlin gave the Superintendent's report, and the board reviewed Mr. Jones' report.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to recognize the following individuals: State Track Meet individuals (Alec Watchorn 7th place in the 110 Hurdles, Shawnee Gamble 7th place in 100 Meters, 6th place in the 200 Meter, Zaili Benish 7th place in the 400, 8th place in the 100 Hurdles, 3rd place in the 300 Hurdles and set a new school record. The 4x400 Meter Relay of Riley Jones, Shawnee Gamble, Macey Roelle, and Zaili Benish placed 6th and set a new school record.) "A" Honor Roll students: Aubri Borges, Auvi Cranmore, Isabella Fischer, Madalynn Stout, Riley Benish, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Ella Haley, Riley Jones, Lila McLaughlin, and Matthew Schwaderer. "A-B" Honor Roll students: Colt Van Anne, Max Wiggins, Brody Turman, Marlee Wiggins, Mercedes Heidemann, Macey Roelle, Alec Watchorn, Sydney Fortune, and Kaydence Haupt. "A" Honor Roll for 5-8 students: Kasen Miller, Regan Moore, Brooks Frerichs, Madilynn Mitchell, Adyleigh Rushman, Ainsley Mertz-Cleveland, Cooper Benish, Paige Frerichs, Hadlee Guggenmos, Kinley McDaniel, Henry McLaughlin, Jaylyn Noel, and Kennedy Roelle. "A-B" Honor Roll for 5-8: Wade Ascherl, Victor Lopez, Grayson McDaniel, Levi Roelle, Esme Bunner, Breckyr Cranmore, Hayden Eslick, Sarah Dunn, Lucas Eddy, Chase Moore, Connor Rieken, and Dillon Schmidt. Panhandle Prep All-Star Basketball: Coach Jed Benish, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Sydney Fortune. MAC vs. MNAC All-Star Basketball: Coaches Jed Benish (Girls), James Rushman (Boys), Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Sydney Fortune, Kaydence Haupt. West Nebraska All-Star Volleyball: Coach Natasha Haupt, Shawnee Gamble, Kaydence Haupt. NCPA Academic All-State Awards: Music: Ella Haley and Macey Roelle, Boys Track: Riley Benish and Alec Watchorn, Girls Track: Zaili Benish and Shawnee

Gamble. Roll Call vote: S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest, Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by S. Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman, to approve the meeting minutes of the Regular board meeting on May 12th and the Special Board Meeting on June 2nd. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by M. Ernest, to approve the claims, warrants, and transfers. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by S. Ernest, seconded by M. Ernest, to approve Mercedes Heidemann's request to graduate early. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

The Board considered three playground bids with a Motion by S. Ernest to approve the bid from King Swings. The motion died for lack of a second.

Moved by M. Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman, to accept the bid from Havenger Concrete LLC for \$33,408 for installing a concrete floor in the bus barn. Roll Call vote: M. Ernest: Yea, S, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Nay. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 1.

Moved by Benish, seconded by S. Ernest to accept the bid from Rocket Alumni Solutions for the 55" TV and a one-year subscription to their interactive display board service for \$6,861. Roll Call vote: S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Nay, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Nay. Motion Carried Yea: 3, Nay: 2.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman, to accept the interlocal agreement with ESU 13 Valts program. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher, to accept the Rule 10 review as presented. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by S. Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman, to accept the revisions of policy #3040, School Safety and Security. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman, to approve all presented policies as updated by KSB Policy Service, except policies 6025 (Student Cell Phones and Electronic Devices) and 3057 (Title IX) for review in July. Roll Call vote: M. Ernest: Yea, S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

ADJOURN

Moved by Benish, seconded by S. Ernest, to adjourn the meeting at 9:08 PM. Roll Call vote: S. Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, M. Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Approved by,

Respectfully Submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary