Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 High School Library Regular Board Meeting - April 16, 2025 5:30 PM

Call to Order:

The regular board meeting of Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on April 16, 2025, at 5:30 PM, in the Library of Leyton High School, Dalton, NE 69131. The Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the library. Published notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the school website (www.leytonwarriors.org) on or before April 10, 2025.

Attendance taken at 5:30 PM.

Benish: Present
Borges: Present
Ernest: Present
Rushman: Absent
Schumacher: Present
Wiedeman: Present

Also present were Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Jones, Mrs. Haley, Mrs. Kruse, Mrs. Hanks, Mrs. Haupt, Mr. Henderson, Mrs. Weiser, Mr. Selzer, Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Schumacher, and thirteen community members. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. There was no communication with the board.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

There was no public comment.

The School Board interviewed three potential candidates to replace Mr. Rushman. The three candidates were Chris Geary, Mitch Ernest, and Tim Jones.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman, to table the motion to select a new board member until May's meeting. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Tabled Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Mrs. Hanks was at the meeting to discuss adding Speech class to the graduation requirements at Leyton.

Mrs. Haupt was at the meeting to discuss adding a video board that the yearbook staff could use to update our facility and showcase our student achievements, past yearbooks, athletic accomplishments and much more.

The Board met with Shawnee Gamble to recognize her accomplishments at State Speech; and the FFA Chapter to recognize their competition at State FFA with members Mercedes Heidemann, Macey Roelle, Lila McLaughlin, Shawnee Gamble, Auvi Cranmore and Riley Benish presenting. Lila McLaughlin was recognized for being the first Leyton FFA member to place at State FFA, and she also received her State Degree.

The school board reported on three different trainings: NRCSA Conference, Financial Conference with Carl Dietz, and the Open Meetings Act Conference through NASB. The building and grounds committee reported on the facility walkthrough and will organize a May priority list.

Ella Haley presented the Stuco report to the board.

Mr. McLaughlin and Mr. Jones read their administrative reports to the board.

Regular Agenda:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to excuse Board Member Rushman. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Benish to recognize the Leyton Foundation for their purchase of weight room equipment (Brooke McRoberts Memorial) as well as coats for the football team (Alumni Basketball tournament); the FFA Chapter and members who presented earlier in the evening; to the MAC Quiz Bowl Junior High team who placed 2nd, and our High School team who placed 3rd; to Matthew Schwaderer as an all-conference performer for the High School; to High School Quiz Bowl team members Matthew Schwaderer, Lila McLaughlin, Ella Haley, Shawnee Gamble, Riley Benish, Kaleb Miller, Mercedes Heidemann, and Gideon Schwaderer; to Junior High team members Henry McLaughlin, Cooper Benish, Connor Rieken, Paige Frerichs, Kennedy Roelle, and Jaylyn Noel; to State Speech participant, Shawnee Gamble, who placed 3rd in Serious Prose; to Shawnee. Lila, and Coach Jourdan Schumacher on a successful speech season; to the following MAC Music placings: Concert Band placed 3rd, Leyton Duets placed 3rd, Small Ensembles placed 1st, Shawnee Gamble placed 1st in High Brass, Ella Haley placed 2nd in Low Brass, String Solo Zaili Benish placed 1st, Vocal Concert Choir placed 2nd, the Trio of Zaili Benish, Aspen Snyder and Christian Townsend placed 1st; to Mr. Oakes and all the music students for their efforts; to Lila McLaughlin for receiving her State FFA Degree and placing 10th in the Food Science Competition as an individual, receiving a purple ribbon; to Shawnee Gamble who received a red ribbon in Food Science; to Lila McLaughlin who received a blue ribbon in Nursery and Landscape; and to Heidi Rushman and Michelle Benish for sponsoring the trip. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Borges, to approve the minutes of March 10, 2025, School Board meeting. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman, to approve the claims, warrants, and transfers. Roll Call vote: Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

The Board reviewed Policies 3059, 3060 and 4000-4020. No action was taken.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Benish to approve the track top coat bid from ProTrack in the amount of \$96,000 to be paid from the Special Building Fund. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to approve the graduation roster for the Class of 2025. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the hire of Melissa Roelle as 5th grade teacher. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the hire of Faith Jones as Guidance Counselor. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to approve the resignation, with regret, of Amy Neumann. Roll Call vote: Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to approve the resignation, with regret, of Paula Wolff, Guidance Counselor. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve Speech class as a requirement for graduation for all students starting with the Class of 2028. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher, to approve the sale or trade of camera equipment from the business and yearbook inventory. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Informational Item:

The next Regular Board meeting will be Monday, May 12, 2025 @ 6:00 PM.

Adjourn:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Borges, to adjourn the meeting at 7:46 PM. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 5, Nay: 0.

Approved by,

Respectfully Submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary