Proceedings of the Leyton Public Schools Cheyenne County School District #03 Board of Education Regular Meeting Monday, February 12, 2023- 5:30 PM High School Library in Dalton, NE

Call To Order:

President Ryan Borges called the Regular Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before Thursday, February 8, 2024.

Members present: Shad Benish, Ryan Borges, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: none. Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin and Principal Charles Jones. In addition, there was one visitor.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. There was no communication.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the agenda. Roll Call Vote: Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Reports:

Trenton Rushman, President of the Student Council, was in attendance to discuss the initiatives of the student council.

Mr. Benish and Mr. Schumacher reported from the Building and Grounds Committee.

Mrs. Ernest reported on the NASB meeting.

Mr. Wiedeman and Mr. Benish reported from the Legislative Issues Conference they attended in January.

Mr. Jones presented the K-12 Principal report and Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's report.

Regular Agenda:

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to approve the following special recognitions: Matt & Alison Haley and the Student Council members for their work in helping with the food pantry, the winners of the Leyton Spelling Bee places are as follows: 1st Place Bella Fischer, 2nd Place Aubri Borges, 3rd Place Auvi Cranmore, 4th Place Regan Moore, 5th Place Paige Frerichs, 6th Place Cainyn Rushman, Aubri Borges for getting 2nd place at the Cheyenne County Spelling Bee, the girls placed 2nd and the boys placed 3rd in the MAC Basketball tournament. Trenton Rushman, Jaxson Benish, Amanda Montelongo Jones, Shawnee Gamble, Zaili Benish, Ella Haley, Sydney Fortune, Isaac Lipska, Riley Benish, and Macey Roelle attended the MAC band clinic along with Mr. Oakes. The Food Science Team of Lila McLaughlin, Mercedes Heidemann, Macey Roelle, and Faith Lee placed 3rd and qualified for State FFA. Jaxson Benish and Trenton Rushman will receive their FFA State Degrees at the State Convention in April. High School Honor Roll for 2nd Qtr. there were 8 on A/B and 5 on A. For 1st Semester, there were 10 on A/B and 6 on A. Grades 5-8 for 2nd Qtr. there were 16 on A/B and 16 on A. For 1st Semester there were 14 on A/B and 18 on A. Roll Call Vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Benish to approve the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting from January 8, 2024. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to approve the Claims, Warrants, and Transfers. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

The Board reviewed Policies #2000 - #2009. No action was necessary.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the hire of Linda Victory as Special Education teacher for the district. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6 Nay: 0

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve the purchase of a new accounting system, Software Unlimited, as presented to the board. Roll Call vote: Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to transfer \$100,000.00 into the Nutrition Fund. Roll Call vote: Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Benish to enter Executive Session to discuss the contracts of the Principal and Superintendent at 6:51 PM. Roll Call Vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to exit Executive Session and return to the regular meeting at 7:37 PM. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0. There was no action taken during the Executive Session.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Schumacher to extend a contract to K-12 Principal, Charles Jones. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Moved by Borges, seconded by Schumacher to approve the contract of the Superintendent, Matt McLaughlin, for a two-year contract. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

Informational Items:

Next Regular Meeting: Monday, March 11, 2024, at 7:00 PM

Adjournment:

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 PM. Roll Call Vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0

APPROVED BY,

Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary