Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education Meeting
March 16, 2023 – 5:30 p.m.
High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

### CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the <a href="https://www.leytonwarriors.org">www.leytonwarriors.org</a> website on or before Thursday, March 9, 2023.

Members present: Shad Benish, Ryan Borges, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: None. Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin and HS Principal Kevin Thomas. In addition, there were five visitors.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Communication was received from Anna Faye Van Anne. Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

### **REPORTS:**

There were no public comments.

Claire Watchorn, STUCO Vice-President, presented the STUCO report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Budget and Negotiations Committee Report.

Mr. McLaughlin also presented the Building and Grounds Committee Report. Mr. Schumacher and Mr. Benish discussed areas of concern from their tour of the facilities.

Mr. Thomas presented the Secondary Principal's report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's Report.

# **REGULAR AGENDA:**

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to recognize the 3rd Quarter HS Academic "A" Honor Roll students (Macey Roelle, Carlyn Thomas, Alec Watchorn, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Ella Haley, Jaiden Schilreff, Jaxson Benish, Kaleb Borges, Trenton Rushman, Claire Watchorn, and Axi Benish); the 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter HS Academic "A/B" Honor Roll students (Rolin Baca, Faith Lee, Kaydence Haupt, Ayden Hurt, Ciena McKenzie, Jonathan Kruse, Alex Slaughter, Chance Carter, Justin Ernest, Dawson Juelfs, Jakob Kruse, Cort Rummel, Damyn Russ, and Morgan Shaw); 3rd Quarter Perfect Attendance (Jaxson Benish); 3rd Quarter 95% or Better Attendance (Kaleb Borges, Kaitlyn Craig, Sydney Fortune, Shawnee Gamble, Jerry Hajek, Ella Haley, Hope Lee, Isaac Lipska, Kaleb Miller, Macey Roelle, Holden Syverson, Carlyn Thomas, Alec Watchorn, and Claire Watchorn); to the Boys Basketball team for a great season ending at District Finals; to the Girls Basketball team for winning the District title and earning a trip to the state basketball tournament; to the State Speech Qualifiers (Holden Syverson-Informative, Lila McLaughlin-Poetry, and Shawnee Gamble, Michael Kepler, and Cort Rummel-OID); to the FFA District participants (Trenton Rushman-14th in Livestock Judging; Mercedes Heidemann-9th and Carlyn Thomas-13th in Nursery & Landscaping); to the HS Quiz Bowl team for placing 7th at Bayard (Individual placers: Dawson Juelfs-5th and Chance Carter-7th); to the Regional Science Fair winners who qualified for State (Jonathan Kruse & Trenton Rushman-1st, Damyn Russ-3rd, and Kaleb Borges-4th); to Mrs. Rathman and Mrs. Blomenkamp on reviewing special education curriculum; to Chris Lind for her hard work on our recent Lunch Review Audit; and Mrs. Haley for her work on continuing our fantastic website. Roll Call Vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Benish to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on February 13, 2023. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Benish to approve bills and financial reports from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to accept, with regret, the resignation of Jamie Thompson, Elementary Teacher, and thank her for her service to the District. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board reviewed Policies #5035-5050. No action was necessary.

### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:**

1. Next Regular Meeting: Thursday, April 13, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library

## ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to adjourn the meeting at 6:34 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved by, Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary