Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education Meeting
November 14, 2022 – 5:30 p.m.
High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before November 10, 2022.

Members present: Ryan Borges, Lisa Carter, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: None. Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin, High School Principal Kevin Thomas and eighteen visitors.

There were no communications. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

PUBLIC COMMENTS/PRESENTATIONS:

Public comments were heard from Chris Lind.

Members of the Fine Arts Club (Trinity Beutler, Michael Kepler, Jasemine Moore, & Alisha Wells) were in attendance to discuss their trip to watch the WNCC performance of the "Pajama Game" and other future projects. The fall Talent Showcase has been moved to April 22, 2023.

Members of the Varsity Volleyball team (Zaili Benish, Trinity Beutler, Sydney Fortune, Shawnee Gamble, Ella Haley, Macey Roelle, and Claire Watchorn) discussed their season's accomplishments with the highlights being a 2nd place finish in the MAC Conference Tournament, winning the Sub-District Championship, and an appearance in the District Finals.

REPORTS:

STUCO Vice-President, Claire Watchorn, and Sophomore Representative, Ella Haley, presented the STUCO report. In October, they hosted pumpkin carving competitions and a badminton tournament. They are currently working on organizing the first Winter Formal which will be held on December 10th.

There were no Board reports.

Mr. Thomas presented the Secondary Principal's Report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's report.

REGULAR AGENDA:

Moved by Carter, seconded by Schumacher to recognize the following individuals listed in the reports: Tim Melton for his work on the annual Veterans' Day Program and for collaborating with community members and school staff to honor veterans on this important day; to Mr. Oakes, the band, and choir for their performances during the program; to Isaac Ascherl and Todd Ascherl for their ability to step up and lead the JH wrestling team; to the Volleyball Team for winning Sub-Districts and playing in the District Finals; to the "A" Honor Roll students: Carlyn Thomas, Zaili Benish, Ella Haley, Jaiden Schilreff, Matthew Schwaderer, Kaleb Borges, Trenton Rushman, Axi Benish, and Alex Jeppson; to the "A-B" Honor Roll students: Mercedes Heidemann, Faith Lee, Macey Roelle, Katelyn Serrato, Alec Watchorn, Shawnee Gamble, Hope Lee, Lila McLaughlin, Claire Watchorn, Logan Craig, Justin Ernest, Dawson Juelfs, Dillon Juelfs, Jakob Kruse, Cort Rummel, and Damyn Russ; to Alison Haley for keeping Facebook updated with the latest news and information; to Mr. Gamble for his work with fall sports; and to Mrs. Rathman and her team for working hard

to select a new reading curriculum. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Borges to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on October 17, 2022. Roll call vote: Yes: Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Rushman to approve the claims, warrants, and transfers from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

No action necessary on the purchase of Elavon Merchant credit card processing.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to amend the attendance section in the student handbook by removing the "temporary illness" exception. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:

1. Next Regular Meeting:

December 12, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to adjourn the meeting at 6:07 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved by,

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Carter, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary