Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education
May 14, 2018 – 7:30 p.m.
District Administrative Offices in Dalton, NE

### CALL TO ORDER:

President Jed Benish called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Members present: Jed Benish, Colleen Cruise, Kevin Henke, Cary Linton, Jennifer Powell and Rob Rushman. Members absent: none. Also present were Superintendent Lorrie Miller, Principal Lance Howitt and Recording Secretary Janella Kruse. In addition, there were twenty-two visitors.

Moved by Mr. Rushman, seconded by Mrs. Cruise to approve the agenda. Motion approved 6-0. Communications were read from Liz Twarling and Janella Kruse.

Mrs. Laura Rowan addressed the Board with her concern that an offensive word was printed in the May newsletter. Mr. Benish responded that the Board will discuss the issue and decide how it should be handled.

Mr. Dave Melchoir talked to the Board regarding gym floor maintenance and asked to meet with the Building & Grounds Committee to discuss a plan for the summer. Mr. Benish said that they would notify him.

### **BUSINESS MEETING:**

Moved by Mr. Rushman, seconded by Mr. Henke to approve the minutes of the Board's regular meeting for April 9, 2018. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Henke, seconded by Mrs. Cruise to approve the minutes of the Board's special meeting for April 13, 2018. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Rushman, seconded by Mrs. Powell to approve General Fund bills and financial reports as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Henke, seconded by Mrs. Cruise to approve bills and financial reports from the remaining funds as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

### **ACTION ITEMS:**

Moved by Mrs. Powell, seconded by Mr. Henke to grant Special Recognition to the Assembly of God Church for loaning tables to the high school for Prom and the FFA banquet; to the NCPA Spring Academic All-State selections: Jeremy Carley & Josh Kruse (Boys Track), Megan Ernest & Danielle Higgins (Girls Track), Janessa Carley & Destinee Henke (Music); to Ms. Gipfert and her Kindergarten students on their program; and to Paige Ernest & Madison Widener (co-valedictorians) and Taylor Borges (salutatorian) on their graduation speeches. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Linton to approve teacher/staff continuing contracts. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mrs. Cruise, seconded by Mr. Linton to extend contracts to Wendy Hansen (K-12 Art Teacher) and Ashley Lindholm (PT Guidance Counselor) for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion approved 5-0 (Rushman abstained).

Moved by Mr. Henke, seconded by Mr. Rushman to approve an extended school year (14 days) for a SPED student and to pay the teacher an hourly wage as determined by the Negotiations Committee. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mrs. Powell, seconded by Mr. Linton to revise policies #3030 (Automatic External Defibrillator (AED) Program) and #6012 (Flag Display and Patriotic Observances) as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

Mr. Tracy Cooper presented the Board with information on upcoming FFA overnight trips (COLT training and State Horse Judging) and to request transportation for those trips. Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mrs. Powell to authorize those trips and pay for the transportation expenses. Motion approved 6-0.

# DISCUSION ITEMS (WITH POSSIBLE ACTION):

Discussed the preschool surveys. There were only seven surveys that were returned and therefore the Board will not be pursuing a preschool at this time.

Discussed the 1:1 laptop program and changes to the technology plan. Mr. Rushman suggested that these purchases be paid out of the Depreciation Fund. Moved by Mr. Linton, seconded by Mr. Benish to implement Year One of the technology plan with noted changes as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

Discussed a repair estimate for the 2005 Blue Bird bus. It was recommended to get a second estimate and to also look at purchasing a used bus in late summer.

### **REPORTS:**

Mr. Linton provided information from the Building and Grounds Committee. Their recommendation was to update the Ag Shop this summer in order to meet WNCC welding certification criteria for next school year and to wait on the Gurley parking lot improvements and concrete until summer 2019. The Board gave consensus to accept the bid from Compton Electrical Services for electrical work in the Ag Shop.

The Board discussed cabinetry for an elementary classroom and gave permission to proceed with the project.

The Board reviewed the ALICAP Inspection Report and it was reported favorable.

Mr. Howitt reported on the Data Conference and that he attended sessions on FERPA with NDE, Progress & Support for Nebraska's Principals, Discipline Data to ADVISER, and Attendance Data in ADVISER. Mr. Howitt also reported that he, along with Neal Thompson, Kathy Surber and Dot Hall, attended a Standard Response Protocol Training in North Platte. This training was presented by Jolene Palmer, NDE Safety Coordinator.

Mrs. Allie Peters and Mrs. Becky Murray reported on their attendance at the NETA Conference. Mrs. Peters liked the Keynote Address and came back with many District wide suggestions. Mrs. Murray said that she felt more confident after this conference because of the technology changes the District has made. They thanked the Board for sending them to the conference.

Ms. Miller reported that she will have accumulated 215 days through the end of May and will be done the last week of June. She also stated that textbook samples are being received for the Curriculum Committee to review. Ms. Miller said that a patron would like to make a beef donation to the lunch program, but that our current processor is booked up until 2019. Mr. Benish offered to find other USDA processors in the area.

## TIME AND DATE OF NEXT REGULAR MEETING:

The next regular meeting of the Leyton Board of Education will be Monday, June 11, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. The meeting will be held in the district's administrative offices at Leyton High School in Dalton.

### ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned by general consent at 9:31 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Approved by,

Janella Kruse
Recording Secretary

Jennifer Powell, Secretary Leyton Board of Education