Proceedings of the Leyton Public Schools Cheyenne County School District #03 Board of Education Regular Meeting Monday, March 11, 2024 – 7:00 PM High School Library in Dalton, NE

### Call To Order:

President Ryan Borges called the Regular Meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Scottsbluff Star-Herald, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before Thursday, March 7, 2024.

Members present: Shad Benish, Ryan Borges, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: none. Also, present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin and Principal Charles Jones. In addition, there were two visitors.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Communications were read from the Matt Haley family and Glen Lipska.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to approve the agenda. Roll Call Vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Lisa Carter gave a special presentation on financial information she had researched.

# Reports:

Ella Haley, Vice-President of the Student Council, presented the STUCO report.

Mr. Jones presented the K-12 Principal's report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's report.

### Regular Agenda:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to approve the following special recognitions: to Glen Lipska for his years of dedication in coaching Leyton athletes; to Jaxson Benish and Ella Haley for placing  $4^{th}$  at the Regional Science Fair and qualifying for the State Competition; and to the MAC All-Conference Basketball Team selections (Girls: Zaili Benish and Shawnee Gamble  $-1^{st}$  Team; Sydney Fortune – Honorable Mention; Boys: Jonathan Kruse  $-1^{st}$  Team; Kaleb Borges  $-2^{nd}$  Team). Roll Call Vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting from February 12, 2024. Roll Call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Borges to approve the Claims, Warrants, and Transfers. Roll Call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board reviewed the option enrollment application period. No action was taken.

The Board reviewed the 2024 Legislative Calendar and Bill Introductions. No action was taken.

The Board reviewed Policies #2010 - #2017. No action was taken.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to approve the K-12 Principal's contract for Charles Jones as presented. Roll Call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the Superintendent's contract for Matthew McLaughlin as presented. Roll Call vote: Yes: Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Discussion was held on the track project. No action was taken. A special meeting will be held for further discussion and possible action.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Benish to approve the 2024-2025 District calendar as presented. Roll Call vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

### Informational Items:

Next Regular Meeting: Monday, April 15, 2024, at 7:00 AM

# Adjournment:

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to adjourn the meeting at 8:10 PM. Roll Call Vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

APPROVED BY,

Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary