Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education Meeting
February 13, 2023 – 5:30 p.m.
High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before Thursday, February 9, 2023.

Members present: Shad Benish, Ryan Borges, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: Sam Schumacher. Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin and HS Principal Kevin Thomas. In addition, there were ten visitors.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. A thank you was read from Todd and Cathy Ascherl.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

REPORTS:

Public comments were heard from Chris Lind.

Claire Watchorn, STUCO Vice-President, and Ella Haley, Sophomore Representative, gave the STUCO report. Their current fundraising activities include community calendars and strawberry sales. They are also planning a Corn Hole Tournament for May 6th.

Mr. Wiedeman discussed the Legislative Issues Committee meeting he attended.

Mrs. Ernest reported on the NASB Board meeting and services/programs that they provide.

Mr. Borges reported on the Budget Finance Workshop he attended.

Mr. Thomas presented the Secondary Principal's report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's Report.

REGULAR AGENDA:

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest to excuse Sam Schumacher from tonight's meeting. Roll call vote: Yes: Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to recognize the HS Academic "A" Honor Roll students (Faith Lee, Macey Roelle, Carlyn Thomas, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Ella Haley, Jaiden Schilreff, Matthew Schwaderer, Kaleb Borges, Trenton Rushman, Axi Benish, Justin Ernest, Cort Rummel, and Claire Watchorn); the HS Academic "A/B" Honor Roll students (Mercedes Heidemann, Alec Watchorn, Lila McLaughlin, Jonathan Kruse, Chance Carter, Logan Craig, Lisa Dobrinski, Alex Jeppson, Dawson Juelfs, Dillon Juelfs, Jakob Kruse, Damyn Russ and Morgan Shaw); the snow removal crews at both sites; the Boys' Basketball team for winning the MAC Conference Tournament; the Girls' Basketball team for their Runner Up finish at the MAC Conference Tournament; Holden Syverson and Shawnee Gamble for their selection in the High Plains Band & Choir Festival; Mrs. Megan Rathman for her work throughout the Reading curriculum process; Jacob Noel and Ryan Fortune for their work with the Social Studies' room repair; Mr. Thomas for his work addressing the student code of conduct in the handbook; the Spelling Bee winners (1st-Henry McLaughlin; 2nd-Auvi Cranmore; 3-Aubri Borges; 4th-Gauge Harcsa; 5th-Madilynn Mitchell; 6th-Bella Fischer); the Elem/JH "A" Honor Roll students (3rd-Kasen Miller, Regan Moore; 4th-Madilynn Mitchell, Adyleigh Rushman; 6th-Cooper Benish, Hadlee Guggenmos, Henry McLaughlin, Connor Rieken, Chase Moore, Kennedy Roelle; 7th-Aubri Borges, Auvi Cranmore, Bella Fischer, Max Wiggins; 8th-Riley Benish) and the Elem/JH "A/B" Honor Roll students (3rd-Easton Mousel, Brennan Rieken, Levi Roelle; 4th-Breckyr Cranmore; 5th-Skylar Draper, Cainyn Rushman; 6th-Kaleb Lee, Slader Newitt, Jaylyn Noel, Flint Schwaderer; 7th-Colt VanAnne; 8th-Austin Beutler, Brody Turman, Marlee Wiggins). Roll Call Vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Rushman to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on January 9, 2023 and the Special Board Meeting on January 16, 2023. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Benish to approve bills and financial reports from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman to approve changes to the Student-Athlete Code of Conduct as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the 2023-2024 Master Calendar. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Wiedeman, seconded by Borges to approve the employment of Mr. Charles Jones as K-12 Principal for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Ernest, seconded by Benish to accept, with regret, the resignation of Chris Lind, Food Services Director, at the end of the 2022-2023 school year and to thank her for her service to the District. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to accept, with regret, the resignation of Kathy Surber, Elem/JH Secretary, at the end of the 2022-2023 school year and to thank her for her service to the District. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Borges, seconded by Wiedeman to accept, with regret, the resignation of Allie Primm, K-12 Guidance Counselor, at the end of the 2022-2023 school year and to thank her for her service to the District. Roll call vote: Yes: Benish, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

The Board reviewed Policies #5018-5034. No action was necessary. The Board asked Mr. McLaughlin to consider a revision, as per discussion, on Policy #5032 for the next meeting.

Motion by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the Leyton Foundation's plan to provide tuition assistance to students who are taking Dual Credit college courses enrolled through WNCC Sidney. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, and Benish. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Rushman, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the purchase of the Amplify CKLA (K-5th) and ELA (6th-8th) reading curriculum, as presented, using ESSER II and ESSER III Funds. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Borges, seconded by Benish to approve the Vision statement for Leyton Public Schools as "Embracing Community, Creating Integrity, Achieving Greatness". Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

The Board discussed the possibility of paying classified staff for days when school is canceled. No action was taken.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:

1. Next Regular Meeting: Thursday, March 16, 2023 at 5:30 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to adjourn the meeting at 6:51 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Benish, Borges, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Approved by, Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary