Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Board Workshop October 22, 2018 - 5:30 PM

The Leyton Board of Education met Monday, October 22, 2018 at 5:30 P.M. in the Elementary Science Room in Gurley. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Leyton High School, Leyton JH/Elementary School, at various businesses in the community and on the <u>www.leytonwarriors.org</u> website on or before October 12, 2018. Said posting gave date, time, and location of the meeting.

- 1. Board President Jed Benish called the workshop to order at 5:30 P.M. and stated that the meeting would be conducted under Open Meetings law.
 - 1.1. ROLL CALL
 - 1.1.1. The following Board of Education members were present: Jed Benish, Colleen Cruise, Kevin Henke, Cary Linton, Jennifer Powell, and Rob Rushman. Absent: None.
 - 1.1.2. The following Administrators were present: Superintendent Chris Geary and Elementary/JH Principal Dana Morgan. Absent: HS Principal Lance Howitt.
 - 1.2. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
 - 1.2.1. Motion by Linton, seconded by Powell to approve the agenda. ROLL CALL VOTE: VOTING YES Linton, Henke, Benish, Rushman, Cruise and Powell. VOTING NO None. MOTION CARRIED: 6-0.
- 2. RECEIVE PUBLIC INPUT REGARDING TRACK RENOVATIONS
 - 2.1. Superintendent Geary presented to those in attendance why the Board was looking into building a new track. He discussed the challenges we face as a District such as declining enrollment, improving our facilities and improving our academics. He reported on expenditures that the District has paid in the last year to improve our curriculum, equipment, and facilities. Finally, he discussed the District's finances including where the money would come from to build a new track facility.
 - 2.2. A preliminary sketch of the track was shown and noted that this would be an 8 lane track that could host district track meets. The estimated initial cost would be \$990,000.00.
 - 2.3. Public Comments were heard from Anne Rexroth, Tracy Cooper, Earl Reilly, Galen Bartling, Jill Bartling, Jennifer Eckhardt, Katie Rieken, Krystal Borges, Ryan Borges, Jean Handley, Renee Peters, Chris Morgan, Randy Twarling, Matt Haley, Kelly Reimers, Alison Haley, Janella Kruse, Amy Henke, David Dye, Janis Feinstein, Destinee Henke, and Buffy Dye.
- 3. MEETING ADJOURNED
 - 3.1. Motion by Linton, seconded by Cruise to adjourn the workshop at 6:57 P.M. ROLL CALL VOTE: VOTING YES – Henke, Benish, Rushman, Cruise, Powell, and Linton. VOTING NO – None. MOTION CARRIED: 6-0.

Jennifer Powell, Board Secretary

Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary